Colorado Front Range Weapons Charges Lawyer

Article 12 of the Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated lists all offenses relating to firearms and weapons. Committing a firearms or weapons offense could result in harsh charges, prosecution, and incarceration if convicted. If you are facing severe charges for a firearms offense, reach out to a Colorado Front Range weapons charges lawyer.

The dedicated legal team at Nicol Gersch could prepare a legal defense to the specific weapons charges against you. Having a knowledgeable defense attorney on your side could help you avoid or mitigate the consequences of a conviction. We are ready to help your case.

Possessing a Dangerous or Illegal Weapon

Section 18-12-102 of the Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated prohibits the possession of a dangerous or illegal weapon. Dangerous weapons include machine guns, firearms silencers, short shotguns or rifles, and ballistic knives. Illegal weapons include metallic knuckles, gas guns, and blackjacks.

Offenses involving dangerous weapons are class 5 felonies, although subsequent offenses are class 4 felonies. The penalties for class 5 felonies are one to three years in prison and a fine up to $100,000. Class 4 felonies can be penalized by two to six years in prison and a fine up to $500,000.

Possessing an illegal weapon is classified as a class 1 misdemeanor and can be punished by six to 18 months imprisonment and a fine between $500 and $5,000. A Colorado Front Range attorney could prepare a defense to charges of possessing a dangerous or illegal weapon.

Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Colorado Front Range

Section 18-12-105 of the Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated prohibits the unlawful carrying of a concealed knife or firearm. Concealed handguns can be carried with a valid permit, but it is illegal to carry one in certain settings, such as on the grounds of a courthouse or school.

Unlawfully carrying a concealed firearm or knife is a class 2 misdemeanor. The penalties include a jail sentence of three to 12 months and a fine up to $1,000. A seasoned firearm and weapons charges attorney in Colorado Front Range could explain the requirements for obtaining a concealed handgun permit, as well as what constitutes lawful versus unlawful carrying of a concealed handgun.

Other Weapons Offenses Prohibited in Colorado Front Range

Several other weapons offenses are prohibited in the state statutes. Examples of other weapons offenses include:

  • Unlawfully purchasing firearms
  • Illegally discharging a firearm
  • Possessing a weapon by a previous offender
  • Unlawfully allowing a juvenile to possess a handgun
  • Unlawfully carrying a weapon on college, university or school grounds

The penalties for each of these vary based on classification of the particular offense. For example, carrying a weapon on school grounds is a class 6 felony punishable by one year to 18 months in prison and a fine as high as $100,000. Unlawfully providing a handgun to a juvenile is a class 4 felony punishable by two to six years in prison and a fine as high as $500,000.

Reach Out to a Colorado Front Range Weapons Charges Attorney Today

Weapons charges could result in a lengthy prison sentence and a hefty fine if convicted. You should not attempt to fight weapons charges on your own. Allow a Colorado Front Range weapons charges lawyer represent you and fight the charges on your behalf.

Jenn and Justie at Nicol Gersch could advocate on your behalf, protect your constitutional rights, and fight for the best outcome possible. Call us as soon as possible to get started on your case.