Colorado Front Range Point System

Law enforcement in Colorado takes traffic violations seriously. Often, the consequences of a traffic violation include hefty fines. One of the most lasting consequences of a traffic violation is demerit points added to a driver’s license. If enough points are added, automobile drivers could lose their driving privileges.

It is best to seek help from a knowledgeable traffic attorney following a traffic citation. Jenn and Justie at Nicol Gersch could help you fight the ticket so you could avoid the consequences. Additionally, they could help explain the Colorado Front Range point system and how it could affect your driving privileges.

Understanding the Point System

The Colorado Front Range point system varies, depending on how old a person is and if they have a full license versus just a learner’s permit. In Colorado, you start with zero points and accumulate points against you as you commit traffic offenses. An adult is limited to 12 points in any rolling 12-month period. That means that if they got a ticket for four points, and then in 11 months and 29 days, they went out and committed another traffic offense for eight points, they would add together to be 12 points. They are going to lose their license in Colorado based on a rolling 12-month period.

There is also a rolling 24-month period, where you can only get 17 points without losing your license. The 18th point in 24 months will revoke a person’s license. Juvenile and younger drivers get significantly less leeway in terms of points. They are limited to nine points in a 12-month period before their license is revoked.

Common Offenses

Common offenses in Colorado can range from a zero-point ticket to a two-point defective vehicle ticket to a four-point careless driving ticket. Speeding can be anywhere in that range like zero to six points. Reckless driving is eight points. Driving while ability impaired (DWAI) is eight points and driving under the influence (DUI) is 12 points in Colorado. A DUI conviction will revoke a person’s driver’s license automatically. A DWAI or a reckless driving case will not result in revocation absent other points already being on the person’s license. The diligent legal team at Nicol Gersch Law could help people understand the potential consequences of violating a traffic law and help them build a defense.

How a Traffic Attorney Could Help

When a person is convicted of a traffic offense, points could be added to their license. If too many points are added within a calendar year, they could have their license revoked. A person charged with a violating a traffic law, they should consider contacting a defense lawyer. It is best to reach out to a seasoned attorney because they could communicate with the district attorney on the case and help them avoid the harsh consequences of a conviction.

Justie and Jenn at Nicol Gersch Law could help you with any kind of traffic case. We could investigate the accusation and help you build a defense. We have the skills, knowledge, tools, and resources to help your case. Call today to learn about the Colorado Front Range point system and the potential penalties of a conviction.