Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious crime in Colorado. Individuals could face penalties such as probation, alcohol classes, and community service. The DUI charges will depend on an individual’s blood alcohol content level (BAC). If an individual has a high-level BAC, the law may mandate jail time. Additionally, if there is an accident involved or if there are aggravating circumstances, the prosecutor may also want to impose a jail sentence. Individuals should not plead guilty or try to fight the case on their own.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, a Colorado Front Range first-offense DUI lawyer could help your case. Justie and Jenn at Nicol Gersch Law will work tirelessly to help you fight the charges. It is best to speak to a dedicated DUI attorney to learn about the potential consequences you could face if convicted.
The judges and juries are not often lenient with driving under the influence sentences. Unless there is a strong argument against a DUI, usually a jury will convict of at least a DWAI. The penalties for first-time DUI offenses throughout Colorado Front Range are probation, alcohol classes, community service, court costs of about $1,000 to $2,000, depending on a number of factors, and sometimes jail. A seasoned Colorado Front Range first-offense DUI lawyer could review the evidence and work to mitigate the charges.
The diversion programs or probation options offered to first-time offenders in Colorado include a supervised probation period, offered through the probation department. Your probation officer will do random urine and breathalyzer tests. Individuals will have to be compliant and check in with their parole officer.
Individuals will also be required to do a Level II alcohol education program and therapy. The Level II education program is two hours a week for 12 weeks totaling 24 hours. In addition, they will need track A, B, C, or D therapy. Track D is the biggest, and that is usually reserved for second or subsequent offenders. Usually, individuals would be required to complete track B therapy for a first-time offense. It is best to speak to an experienced attorney who handles cases throughout the Colorado Front Range to learn about an individual’s eligibility for diversion programs.
Driving under the influence attorneys will build a defense for first-time DUI charges by looking at the arresting police officer’s actions. They will look to see if the officer had reasonable suspicion for contact or probable cause for an arrest. The attorney will also investigate to determine if the officer advised the individual about expressed consent pursuant to Colorado statutes. The skilled attorney will review the evidence and argue that the individual was not impaired. If the attorney cannot build a good defense for the accused individual, then the lawyer will talk about plea negotiations.
Let a Colorado Front Range first-offense DUI lawyer help your case. Jenn and Justie at Nicol Gersch Law will work hard to help you avoid a conviction. Call today to get started building your defense.