Harassment is against the law in Colorado’s Front Range and includes actions and behaviors such as following a person in public, calling someone over and over, or cyberbullying. Committing acts identified as harassment by law could result in arrest, criminal charges, and prosecution. Extremely harassing behaviors can also expose someone to investigation for stalking charges, which is a felony in Colorado.
If you are facing charges for harassment, a seasoned domestic violence attorney could help your case. An experienced Colorado Front Range harassment lawyer could provide crucial legal representation and assistance. A conviction for harassment could result in a jail or prison sentence, so it is best to have legal representation rather than attempting to defend yourself against harassment charges. Let Justie and Jenn at Nicol Gersch help protect your constitutional rights.
Section 18-9-111 of the Colorado Revised Statutes Annotated outlines laws on harassment in Colorado Front Range. The offense of harassment is committed if, with the intention of harassing, annoying, or alarming another person. Additionally, if an individual does any of the following:
Specific examples of actions constituting harassment under the law include making obscene phone calls, repeatedly posting cruel or hateful comments about another person online, and repeatedly calling and hanging up on someone. A knowledgeable Colorado Front Range harassment attorney could provide additional examples of harassing actions that could result in a person being arrested, charged with, and prosecuted for harassment.
Harassment is an M3 most of the time. However, it is charged as an M1if the harassing behavior was committed as a “hate-crime” (i.e. with the intention of intimidating or harassing another person based on color, race, ancestry, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, or mental or physical disability).
The penalties for committing M3 harassment in Colorado’s Front Range include a $50 fine and a possibility of several months’ imprisonment. The penalties for committing M1 harassment include a fine between $500 and $5,000, a prison sentence between 6 and 18 months, or both a fine and imprisonment. A dedicated harassment lawyer in Colorado Front Range could answer questions about the penalties associated with a specific harassment offense.
If you have been charged with harassment in Colorado Front Range, you do not have to face the situation on your own. With a Colorado Front Range harassment lawyer handling your case, you could have someone on your side helping you fight the charges.
Jenn and Justie could also work to protect your constitutional rights and prevent them from being violated. Call today to get started on your case.